## SPECIAL FIRE ORDER # 001

## **Relating to Reinstatement of Burning Permits in Extensive Protection Areas**

WHEREAS, areas within the Extensive Protection Areas have been experiencing a long period of extreme and exceptional drought conditions;

WHEREAS, based upon weather predictions from the National Weather Service these areas will continue to experience a period of dry weather in which wildland fuels will readily ignite and burn for long duration;

WHEREAS, there is an ongoing wildfire danger and threat that may affect the safety of persons and property in the Extensive Protection Area; and

**WHEREAS**, reinstatement of burning permits in the Extensive Protection Area under Wis. Adm. Code § 30.03(3) will help minimize the risk of wildfire danger;

NOW, THEREFORE, I, Heather Berklund, Division Administrator of Division of Forestry, Department of Natural Resources, by the authority vested in me under Wis. Stat. § 26.12(1) and Wis. Adm. Code § NR 30.03(3), do hereby reinstate burning permit requirements for counties located in the extensive area of protection:

- Columbia county.
- Crawford county.
- Dane county. All lands in: township 6 north, range 6 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 7 north, range 6 east; township 8 north, ranges 6 and 7 east; township 9 north, ranges 6 and 7 east.
- Grant county. All lands in: township 5 north, range 6 west, north1/2; township 5 north, range 7 west, north<sub>1/2</sub>; township 6 north, ranges 6 and 7 west; township 6 north, range 5 west, north<sub>1</sub>/<sub>2</sub>; township 6 north, range 4 west, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 7 north, ranges 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 west; township 8 north, ranges 1, 2 and 3 west; township 9 north, ranges 1 and 2 west.
- Green Lake county.
- Iowa county. All lands in: township 6 north, range 1 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7 and 8; township 6 north, range 2 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 6 north, range 3 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 6 north, range 4 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 6 north, range 5 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 7 north, range 5 east, sections 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6; township 7 north, ranges 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 east; township 8 north, ranges 1, 2, 3, 4 and 5 east.
- Marquette county.
- Oconto county. All lands in: townships 26, 27, 28 and 29 north.
- Portage county.
- Richland county.
- Sauk county.
- Waupaca county.
- Waushara county.

This Order is effective upon issuance and shall remain in effect until rescinded or 1/1/25.

Heather Berklund

Division of Forestry Administrator

Lephu A. Berklund

Department of Natural Resources